Tattoo: The Books of Glory

a webserial about people who are not like us

Tattoo Book 2.2

Posted by harmony0stars on August 3, 2008

Glory smelled the cop before she saw him. He was one of those people who seemed to exude cigarette smoke through his pores, and she supposed he might have a cold, but she suspected he probably kept a flask of some cheap rotgut in his coat. That would explain the medicinal smell of his breath. Though he looked like Death was a couple months late for him, his grip was still like steel as he dug his fingers into Glory’s arm.

“Somehow I knew it would be you,” he wheezed irritably.

“Really?” she said a syrupy voice. “You must be psychic!”

“Don’t give me any lip. What do you know about the disappearance?”

“Disappearances? What Disappearances?!” The boy’s mother demanded angrily.

“Look lady. I’m just trying to do my job here. Why don’t you go push your kid on a swing or something and let me…”

“You bastard! I called you people about someone stalking my little boy, and you couldn’t even be bothered to show up. Now you finally put in an appearance just to accuse the woman who fought to protect my son of having something to do with the man who tried to take him? And now I find out my son’s not the only one who’s been attacked? What? Was my boy bait? I’ll sue every single person responsible for this! I want your name and badge number. We’ll see how long you’re still ‘doing your job’ when I get through with you!”

“I, uh… look lady, you don’t understand… this girl…”

“No, you don’t understand. My husband is a lawyer. My parents and brother are lawyers, and my grandfather was the DA until he retired. You and your superiors are going to hear about this. You’ll be lucky to get a job picking up litter in the park when I get through with you. Now I suggest you get in your car, go back to your boss, and try to explain why in the coming days your office is going to begin to resemble the seventh level of hell!”

She grabbed Glory and dragged her away toward the street. Glory glanced back with a wry smile and bemused shrug. He could do nothing but stand there and scowl after her. Once they were in the woman’s car, she seemed to relax a little. Glory could tell she was still fuming, and who wouldn’t be? But at least she stopped cursing under her breath. She glanced at Glory out of the corner of her eye, as if unsure what to do with her now that she had her in her car.

“If it wouldn’t be too inconvenient, could you let me off at the library?” Glory asked cautiously.

“Sure… you and that cop seem to have some history…” she said almost conversationally.

“Yeah, he hates me for some reason.” Glory shrugged.

She pulled over in front of the library. “Do you have a phone number where I can reach you, as a witness?”

“I’m kind of between phones.”

“Can I have your address then?”

“I’m kind of between addresses too. Kind of a long story.” She looked out the window at the library, her hand on the car door. She hesitated before adding, “I’ve been sleeping in the park, but if you want to get a hold of me, put an add in the paper for Glory A and I’ll come. Promise.” Unsure if the conversation was over or not, Glory glanced back at the woman. She’d pulled her wallet out and was fingering the bills. “Hey, look you don’t have to give me any money. Seriously, isn’t that against the law if you want me to be a witness?”

That made her hesitate. In the end, she pulled out a ten and shoved it into Glory’s hand. “Ten dollars isn’t a bribe. Get yourself something to eat at least. And thank you. I don’t know what that cop has against you, but I don’t think a bad person would protect a stranger’s child.”

Unsure of whether to say ‘thanks’ or ‘you’re welcome,’ Glory mumbled something like a cross between the two and quickly escaped to the sidewalk. “Can I, can I ask you something?” Glory asked. There were already cars backing up and honking at the double parked car.

“I guess so,” the woman replied uncertainly.

“The police asked what your son’s birthday is… I thought that was kind of weird. What is it?”

“September 21st?” The woman looked a little confused. “You don’t think that’s why that man tried to take him, do you?”

“I don’t know, but I’m going to try and find out.” Glory announced confidently. The woman looked surprised. She smiled as Glory closed the door, relieved probably that someone was doing something. The little boy waved from his car seat as they pulled away from the building. Glory waved back, suddenly feeling a little forlorn.

The library was warm and stuffy. Aside from two librarians behind the front desk, Glory didn’t see anyone else. Which was pretty normal. Even accounting for the size of the building, the library was woefully under appreciated by the denizens of Sybar City. Aside from the computers which always seemed to be occupied no matter what time it was, the rest of the library was deserted. Glory made her way to the newspaper and periodical section and began going through the more recent local papers. After a few hours, she found two missing children with the same birth date. When she noticed a free computer, she quickly claimed it and continued her search. In less than an hour, she discovered eight more missing children with the same birthday who had gone missing over the last month. This was obviously no coincidence. They ranged in ages from two to thirteen, but they were all born on September 21st, the Autumnal equinox.

It was clear to her that someone was collecting the children for some occult purpose, and the police must have come to the same conclusion. But what that purpose was and who might be directing it, well that was the million dollar question, wasn’t it?

Aside from pleas from families asking for their children to be returned, few of the articles gave much direct information about the families or their locations. It was simple enough to puzzle out the information online, or failing that, to call the newspapers wherein the articles had first appeared for more information. The librarians grudgingly made change for her so she could use the pay phone. By the time night fell and the library closed, Glory had the contact information for six of the ten families. She would visit them in the morning.

Though she doubted the disappearances had anything to do with her sister, that didn’t mean she couldn’t help… if only to show up that foul cop who seemed determined to pin some crime on her, no matter what it might be.

to Book 2, page 3

2 Responses to “Tattoo Book 2.2”

  1. Miladysa said

    Ignore my second comment on the previous page – there is a link missing.

  2. Miladysa said

    My favourite line?

    “Now I suggest you get in your car, go back to your boss, and try to explain why in the coming days your office is going to begin to resemble the seventh level of hell!”

    Brilliant 😀

    After all her study Glory would know straight off the bat the significance of the date.

Leave a Reply

 
