Tattoo: The Books of Glory

a webserial about people who are not like us

Tattoo Book 6, part 2.8

Posted by harmony0stars on July 21, 2010

Meredith Lewin was not a large woman, but what she lacked in size, she made up for in the shotgun she cradled in her arms like a kitten. She glared as Glory approached the screened in room. “Well? You with the state? I told the police and I’ll tell you, this is my property and I ain’t leaving.”

“I’m not here to make you leave. You’re a grown woman. I’m sure you can make your own decisions,” Glory replied diplomatically.

“Damn straight,” the old woman agreed with a self-satisfied nod.

Meredith blinked and appeared disturbed as Robert stepped into her line of sight. Glory glanced at him and saw he was still looking towards the woods. From his expression, he was more afraid of whatever he had glimpsed in the trees there than of the little old woman with a gun… if he‘d even noticed the gun. As she turned back to her grandmother, Glory saw that the old woman was also scanning the trees anxiously.

“You see something, boy?” she asked brusquely, clutching at a weird little wood symbol on some twine around her neck.

“I thought…there was…”

“You two git in here, quick.” She pushed open the screen with more force than Glory would have expected and stood watching the trees, her gun at the ready.

Robert didn’t have to be told twice and brushed past the old woman as quickly as he could. Glory peered into the trees as she ducked into the dark room, hitting her head on some low hanging vines or wire. There was nothing in the trees so far as she could see.

“What did you see, boy? Tell me quick-like.” Meredith Lewin heaved the screen shut and glared at her visitors. She was filthy, and her body odor wafted around her like an almost visible cloud. Her housedress hung on her weathered bones, held in one piece perhaps only be the dirt which discolored it.

“We went by fast on the ATV… but it looked like a really tall man with no face. It was wearing a suit and tie though.” He laughed uncomfortably. “So it must have been someone’s idea of a joke.”

“The Slender Man ain’t no joke, boy.” She saw the camera in his hand and swatted it to the floor, bashing it with the butt of her rifle. “You see him; he sees you. Pictures only remind you of what you seen and call him back to you. Forget him.” Reaching up, she snatched down one of many wooden ornaments that mirrored the one around her neck and thrust it at Robert. “Take it and keep it with you. Make more if you think he’s coming round your home. He can’t touch you if you keep one close.”

“What’s a Slender Man,” Glory asked, examining one of the figures where it dangled by her head. It looked like a deformed hand made of twigs and twine.

“Slender Man, Shadow Man, Hat Man, whatever you want to call him. We thought we stopped It with the fire and the ritual, but It’s still out there. It’s still taking people, the children… god knows why.” She paused and narrowed her eyes. “What are you people doing here, stirring up trouble? Don’t I have trouble enough? Who are you?”

Glory took a deep breath and said, “I’m Glory Lewin. I’m… I think you’re my grandmother.”

Even in the dark sunroom, Glory could see the blood drain from Meredith Lewin’s face. She staggered and flailed with her hand, reaching for the rocker she had so recently vacated. Glory pulled the rocker closer and helped the woman sit. That didn‘t seem to bother her nearly as much as her words had.

She flinched away from Glory’s touch but sat muttering for several seconds before Glory could make out what she was saying. “Michael told him… no children,” she whispered, her hand over her heart and the twig thing that hung there. “It was too dangerous. Not after he summoned that thing, and we had to bind it’s spirit back into him.” She looked up at Glory with a speculative eye. “But he left, taking that Danielle girl with him. You’re her daughter, ain’t you? He your brother?”

“No, my foster son,” Glory replied.

“Huh,” was the old woman’s only reply. She stared off into space as if deep in thought.

“Can you tell me about my father, please?” Glory asked as the silence lengthened.

Her grandmother looked up startled, as if she’d forgotten they were even there. “Why not ask your mother?” she demanded in a nasty tone. “I’m sure she’d have a lot to say about that savage. I should have smothered him in his cradle. Rotten from the day he was born. I never could understand how he got her to stay with him. I expect it was one spell or another. They weren‘t old blood like the rest of us.”

“I- she’s dead,” Glory said, struggling to admit that much. “I don’t have anyone to ask. There was a fire.”

Meredith blinked at her and asked in a suddenly hushed tone, “What color was the flames? He got to liking fire after we burned Its body. The landfill burned green and blue before the fire moved underground. I’d wager we never really destroyed Its body at all. It’s still there, under all the rock and debris. Afterwards, that’s how he took to killing only his special victims. People he considered a threat, I always thought. That‘s how my Michael went. Burned him up in the barn while he was in the loft away from the sign of Nodens. Told him to carry it with him, but he said it just got in the way of his work.”

“No… it was my twin sister. She… she tried to kill me too, but I got lucky. Someone rescued me.” Meredith stared at her through slitted eyes as if she didn’t believe her. “Please, won’t you tell me what this is all about? I don’t have anyone else I can ask.”

The old woman grunted as she pushed herself up from the chair. “You best come inside. I ain’t got much since the grocery stopped delivering. Probably His doing. But I can at least give you someplace to sit yourself while I tell you what you come to hear.”

She led them into the house, shoving a door wider that already seemed about to fall off its hinges. It scraped against the floor, leaving a relatively clean arc through the dirt that covered the wooden boards. If not for the fact that they were following the owner of the house through its deteriorating halls, Glory would have assumed the place was abandoned.

the inception of Slender Man

The Marble Hornets Youtube collection

Hat Man

Shadow People

***

to Book 6, part 2, page 9

4 Responses to “Tattoo Book 6, part 2.8”

  1. here2read said

    Ok I went to Youtube and watched the Marble Hornets…
    FREAKY

  2. Fiona said

    clutching at a weird little wood symbol on some twin around her neck.

    …should be twine…for a minute I thought she’d already caught Lori and hung her around her neck..

Leave a Reply

 
