Tattoo: The Books of Glory

a webserial about people who are not like us

Tattoo Book 7 part 2.10

Posted by harmony0stars on May 20, 2011

“How the hell did you get way out here?” Maria asked, confusion replacing her perpetual cheerfulness.

“I run fast.” Glory pulled the door open and climbed inside. She studiously ignored everyone as they turned to stare at her. “Just drive wherever it is you’ve decide we want to go,” she snarled.

“Jesus, you’re not even sweating or out of breath. You’ve definitely got some kickass mojo,” Maria said with a little shake of her head. “I’ve only ever seen Jack pull shite like this, and that was after he‘d pulled energy from someone. Nearly killed the guy too, but he was an enemy agent. So I wasn‘t too concerned.”

“If you don’t mind,” Glory glared at the little woman, “I would rather not be reminded of your pet leech.”

“Sor-Ry!” Maria said, turning back around. “You know… if you had just waited a bit, we could have all left together.”

“Whatever.” Mike sat next to her staring until she turned and raise her eyebrows at him. He shook his head and raised his hands, turning away to innocently look out the window.

Trevor was not so shy. “Is it because you’re a healer?” He turned in his seat when she didn‘t answer. “She saved my life,” he said to Maria.

“You didn‘t say you‘d been hurt!” she said in a scolding voice, swatting at him with an elbow. “A real healer, then, huh? Not just an energy worker? That’s pretty rare,” Maria called back to Glory as she bounced over every hole in the road. Then she ruined the almost compliment with, “No wonder Jack got all pervy.”

Glory ignored both of them, maintaining a stony silence throughout the drive. She slid out of the SUV as soon as they came to a stop near the Kildalton ruins.

“Hey, I thought you wanted to see the castle,” Maria shouted as Glory stalked away towards the coast.

“You can look at the castle,” she replied without turning around. “I came to see the caves.”

“Um… I’ll go with her. Why don’t you two explore the ruins,” Mike suggested, setting off at a trot after Glory. “It’ll be romantic.”

Maria stood glaring after Glory, her fists clenched at her sides. “I’m trying as hard as I can to be nice, Trev. I don’t know why she has to be such a chav.”

He slipped an arm around her shoulders. “Maria, sweetheart, don’t kid a kidder.” He attempted to steer her towards the ruins, but she resisted.

“I am trying to be nice!” she insisted.

“You are being very nice,” he agreed. “But you’ve also been digging for info, and she’s not the kind of person to just give it out. She barely trusts us, I think. So she’s probably pissed at me now too for telling you she’s a healer.”

“Well that’s just barmy. I’m not being a nosy Parker. I’m just trying to get to know her is all.” She turned around and started in the same direction as Mike and Glory.

“Sweety…”

“Come on. I bet the caves are lot more interesting than a bunch of falling down buildings.” Trevor had no choice but to follow along in her wake.

Trevor sighed. Once she made up her mind about something, there was no arguing with her. He loved her, but she was as stubborn as an ox. And she wasn’t fooling anyone but herself. Maria was hard as diamonds under all her good cheer, and while she might want Glory to like her, she was equally determined to do her job and get to the bottom of their supposed vacation.

Mike caught up with Glory, and they walked in silence for several yards before he spoke. “You could try being a little nicer to her.”

“No. She could try leaving me alone,” Glory growled after a long pause. Mike had just opened his mouth the make another gambit and shut it again quickly. “I hate people who are all sunshine and smiles on the outside and calculating and cold on the inside. My sister could be like that when she felt like it. She had everyone but me fooled right up until the day she tried to kill me. I don’t trust Maria, even if Trevor does. She’s manipulative and has the whole ‘I’m so cute and dumb I must be harmless’ thing going for her, but I’m not buying it. She‘s as good as a liar, and I don’t want anything to do with her.”

“Hey you guys! Wait up!” Maria called from behind, making Glory freeze in her tracks, her shoulders clenching in rage.

“Just… try to tolerate her,” Mike said gently as he watched Trevor and Maria approach. “She’s really not half bad when she’s not ‘on the job.’” Glory said nothing as the pair joined them.

“We decided the caves sounded much more interesting than the ruins,” Maria gushed, drawing up beside Glory.

Glory glanced at Trevor, and he gave her an apologetic shrug. They walked in silence for several minutes before Maria broke the silence. “How far at these caves?”

“Somewhere along the coast,” Glory replied.

“You don’t even know?” She sounded horrified.

Glory shrugged without stopping. “I tried to look it up, but there was no info aside from, accessible. I assume we’ll hit them eventually.”

“But we could be walking for hours!” the little woman slowed her pace.

“That’s why I was going alone,” Glory said without looking at her unwelcome guest. “You can all go back to the car if you want. I’ll be back to the cottage whenever.”

Maria hesitated. “I- I didn’t mean that I didn’t want to go, just that I would have brought more water and snacks. We could be out here all day.”

Glory said nothing. Maria fell back into step, but her forehead was wrinkled with frustration. It was a nice day at least, so she had nothing to complain about there. The sun shone down on them but a intermittent breeze kept them from getting overly warm. Heather and gorse and other scrub shuddered as the wind flew over them before falling still again. Every so often they heard the tinkling of bells and the bleating of sheep from the gentle hills on their right.

to Book 7, part 2, page 11

4 Responses to “Tattoo Book 7 part 2.10”

  1. Addup2 said

    Why would there be the sound of bells? And I thought cows lowed, sheep bleat. By the way, what time of year is it, as it rains quite a lot! I am enjoying this, despite the nitpicks!

    • Sheep do not low? Hmmm, I’ll fix that. And do they not put bells on sheep? I thought they did… 😦 Maybe it’s just the cute little pet lambs who get bells.

      It is about mid-October in Glory’s world. Which should at least make it blustery, I guess, but I figured I’d give them one nice day before I ruin their trip completely. Teach them to spend their nice day being miserable to one another!

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the story, and don’t worry about nitpicking. I don’t mind. It was very difficult for me to find much useful info on Islay, that is to say, current info. I found lots of historical records, but most books and websites glanced over the island and focused instead on the mainland.

      I couldn’t find any description of the Kildalton Cave at all, so if I get that wrong, chalk it up to artistic license. heh

  2. Alderin said

    I almost (almost) feel sorry for Maria.

    Typo: “He attempted to steer here towards the ruins, but she resisted.” – ‘here’ should be ‘her’

    *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

 
